Oman Investment Licence for Foreign Investors

Foreign investor reviewing business investment documents in Oman

An Oman investment licence is a regulatory approval for companies that fall under the Foreign Capital Investment Law. It is not the document that creates the company, and it is not an immigration status. The current Gov.om service says an eligible company applies through the Oman Business Platform after obtaining its Commercial Registration (CR). The investor, an authorised signatory or a delegated representative may submit the request by self-service or through listed providers such as Sanad and law offices.

Quick answer

First establish the company and obtain its CR. Then, if the company is subject to the Foreign Capital Investment Law, submit the investment-licence request through the Oman Business Platform. The live Gov.om page, updated 2 July 2026, lists five documents: a passport copy, feasibility study, experience information, a bank statement covering at least three months and a lease contract. It currently lists an issuance fee of OMR 0.900 and a licence validity of two years. Approval is not a visa, does not replace sector or municipal approvals and is not guaranteed merely because a CR exists.

Scope: This guide explains the current mainland service at a practical overview level. Free zones and special economic zones operate under a separate zone framework. Requirements can also vary by activity, company form and applicant circumstances. Always check the live official service before applying.

What is an Oman investment licence?

The investment licence records and regulates an investment project under Oman’s Foreign Capital Investment Law. Gov.om describes it as a request submitted through the Oman Business Platform. The application records the applicant’s information, activity, project implementation timeline and feasibility study, after which the request is verified and approved by the competent authority.

The licence sits within a wider setup process. A founder normally selects the activity and legal form, registers the company and obtains a CR, then completes the investment licence when the Foreign Capital Investment Law applies. The company may still require municipality, sector, professional, environmental, premises, labour or other operating approvals. For the incorporation sequence, see How to Start a Business in Oman.

Who needs the licence?

The official service condition is precise: companies subject to the Foreign Capital Investment Law must register for the investment-licence service after obtaining a CR. The law defines a foreign investor broadly as a non-Omani natural or legal person establishing an investment project in Oman, but the application of the service can depend on the company, legal form, activity and regulatory route.

This should not be reduced to “every foreign shareholder always follows one identical process.” A mainland foreign-investment company may fall within the service, while a wholly Omani-owned company is not applying merely because it carries out business. A foreign-company branch or another structure may have structure-specific requirements. A company established in a special economic zone or free zone follows the relevant zone authority’s framework rather than automatically copying the mainland workflow.

Confirmed official requirement: Gov.om states that all companies subject to the Foreign Capital Investment Law register for this service after obtaining Commercial Registration. The application may be made through self-service or a service centre.

Commercial Registration, investment licence and investor visa

Document or status Main purpose When it arises What it does not replace
Commercial Registration (CR) Registers the company or legal entity and its approved commercial data Company-establishment stage Investment licence, activity permits, municipality approvals or immigration status
Investment licence Regulates an investment project under the Foreign Capital Investment Law After CR, for companies subject to the law CR, sector approvals or an investor visa
Investor visa Separate immigration/residency permission Separate eligibility and application process Business registration or operational licensing

A CR is therefore a prerequisite, not a substitute. Equally, holding a CR does not prove that the investment licence has been approved. The company should not assume it can operate until every approval tied to its activity and premises has been completed.

Foreign ownership and activity restrictions

Full foreign ownership is available in many permitted activities, but it is not available without qualification in every business. Article 14 of the Foreign Capital Investment Law allows the Minister to issue a list of activities in which foreign investment is prohibited. Ministerial Decision 209/2020 created that list; Decision 364/2023 amended it, and Decision 435/2024 added further activities. The ministry has said the list is reviewed and can change with economic and policy conditions.

Some activities are reserved for Omani investors. Others may be open to foreign investment but remain regulated by a sector law or authority. The practical safeguard is to verify the exact activity code and proposed ownership on the current Oman Business Platform before signing a lease or committing funds. Do not rely on a generic statement that “100% foreign ownership is always allowed,” and do not assume that an Omani partner is universally required.

Check the activity, not only the company name: a permitted legal form does not make every requested activity available to foreign investment. An activity may be prohibited, conditional or subject to a separate regulator. The official platform and competent authority determine the live position for the selected code.

Documents required

The Gov.om service page currently publishes the following list. The portal or reviewer may request case-specific clarification, but applicants should not invent extra thresholds that the official page does not state.

Published document Confirmed requirement Practical preparation
Copy of passport Passport proof is required Use a clear, complete and current copy; do not crop identity details
Feasibility study A technical and economic feasibility study is required Make project details consistent with the CR activity and application data
Experience Experience information is listed Provide relevant, verifiable project or professional experience without exaggeration
Bank statement Must cover at least three months Provide a continuous, legible statement; the page states no minimum balance
Lease contract A lease contract is listed Confirm that the premises and lease are suitable for the activity and local licensing route

Passport copy

The official list asks for a copy of the passport, and the special conditions repeat that passport proof must be attached. Check that the name and passport number match the applicant data. Gov.om does not publish a special minimum remaining-validity rule on this service page, so do not treat an unofficial rule as part of the investment-licence service without confirmation.

Technical and economic feasibility study

The feasibility study is an expressly stated requirement. The service conditions also call for the investment project implementation timeline. At a practical level, a coherent study normally identifies the activity, project scope, operating model, resources, implementation stages and financial assumptions. These are useful preparation points, not a claim that Gov.om mandates one universal template or financial threshold.

Keep the study consistent with the selected CR activities, lease and experience information. A study describing a different activity or premises can invite questions. The service page does not publish a minimum investment amount, minimum turnover or required study length; this guide does not invent one.

Experience information

“Experience” appears as a separate required item. This may be used to show the investor’s ability to implement the proposed project. Present relevant history clearly and truthfully. The live page does not prescribe a fixed number of years, a universal certificate format or one mandatory CV template.

Bank statement covering at least three months

Preserve the official wording: the bank statement must cover not less than three months. A two-month statement is not equivalent. The service page does not state a minimum balance, minimum deposit, required currency or required bank country. If the portal asks for a clarification in an individual case, follow that request rather than relying on an agent’s invented threshold.

Lease contract

The lease should match the company and project circumstances and should not be treated as proof that the premises have every operating approval. Activity suitability, municipality licensing and sector conditions are distinct checks. If the premises are in Muscat, How to Register a Lease Contract in Muscat explains the Muscat Municipality registration route; it should not be generalised to every governorate.

How to apply through the Oman Business Platform

The official application route is the Oman Business Platform. The investor, authorised signatory or delegated representative can submit using self-service. Gov.om also lists service providers such as Sanad and law offices. Using a service provider does not transfer responsibility for accurate documents or create guaranteed approval.

Stage What to do Key check
1. Obtain CR Complete company establishment first The CR activity and ownership must be correct
2. Prepare documents Passport, feasibility study, experience, three-month bank statement and lease Names, activity and project facts should agree
3. Submit Apply on the Oman Business Platform directly or through a listed provider Submitter must have valid authority
4. Verification The request and supporting information are checked Respond to genuine portal requests through official channels
5. Approval The competent authority decides the request Do not assume submission equals approval
6. Complete other approvals Obtain sector, municipal and operating permissions that apply Licence does not authorise every operation by itself

Gov.om displays “7.0 mins” as the service time. Treat this as a portal service-time estimate, not a promise that the authority will approve the licence within seven minutes. No guaranteed approval period should be built into a lease, hiring plan or launch date.

Current official fee

As reviewed on 13 August 2026, the Gov.om service page lists OMR 0.900 as the fee for issuing an investment licence. This unusual figure is reproduced exactly rather than reinterpreted. It is the fee shown for this service only.

Cost Included in OMR 0.900? Where to verify
Investment-licence issuance fee Yes—the live listed service fee Gov.om live service page
Commercial Registration charges No Oman Business Platform invoice
Municipality or sector licence No Relevant authority
Lease and premises costs No Contract and municipality
Investor visa, tax or labour charges No Separate official service
Lawyer, consultant or service-provider fees No; private costs are not government fees Written private quotation

Licence validity and renewal

The current service says the licence is valid for two years. Do not assume the CR, lease, sector approval or investor visa has the same validity. Each document has its own legal and service cycle.

No sufficiently clear, current renewal procedure is published on the same Gov.om investment-licence page. Holders should check the live Oman Business Platform and Gov.om before expiry and follow the available renewal or update service for their record. Do not wait until the final day, and do not rely on an old screenshot or an agent’s promise.

What happens after approval?

Approval completes the investment-licence step; it does not turn every activity into an immediately operable business. Confirm the municipality or premises licence, sector regulator approval, professional permissions, environmental or safety requirements and any other conditions displayed for the CR activity. If staff will be hired, complete Ministry of Labour permissions and employment formalities before work begins.

Ministerial Decision 411/2025 added a current employment requirement to the executive regulations: an establishment or company founded by a foreign investor must appoint at least one Omani worker after one year has passed from starting commercial activity, register that worker with the Social Protection Fund and comply with the applicable Omanisation percentages. This does not replace any higher or activity-specific labour requirement.

Foreign staff need their own employment and immigration route. The Oman Work Visa Guide gives an overview. Existing residents should also keep personal documents current; see Oman Resident Card Renewal.

A company will commonly arrange corporate banking after establishment. The Oman Hub guide to opening a personal bank account in Oman covers personal banking only and does not replace a company account or a bank’s corporate due-diligence process.

Investment licence versus investor visa

The investment licence regulates the business investment project. The investor visa is a separate immigration service administered through a separate official route. Gov.om publishes a dedicated “Get Investor Visa” service with its own evidence, fees and conditions. An investment licence does not automatically grant residence, a CR does not guarantee a visa, and owning shares does not itself authorise a person to work.

No automatic residency: never pay an intermediary who says that a CR or investment licence automatically guarantees a five- or ten-year visa. Confirm investor-visa eligibility and payment through the official Gov.om/competent-authority service.

Mainland companies versus special economic and free zones

Oman’s special economic zones and free zones have a distinct legislative and administrative framework. Royal Decree 38/2025 issued the Law of Special Economic Zones and Free Zones, while OPAZ provides a one-stop-shop route for areas under its supervision. A zone company may have different licensing, land, incentive and operating arrangements.

Route Primary framework Practical action
Mainland foreign-investment company Oman Business Platform, Foreign Capital Investment Law and relevant regulators Check whether the post-CR investment licence applies
Special economic/free-zone company Zone law, OPAZ or relevant zone operator rules Use the zone’s official one-stop-shop and licence route
Regulated-sector project Company/investment rules plus sector legislation Obtain the regulator’s approval in addition to company permissions

Practical preparation before you submit

Run one consistency check across the CR, passport, feasibility study, experience record, bank statement and lease. The company name, applicant identity, activity and project description should not contradict one another. Confirm that the person pressing submit is recorded as the investor or authorised signatory, or holds a valid delegation. Keep a dated copy of every uploaded file and the official payment receipt.

Check the platform rather than an old checklist on the day of submission. If the activity has a regulator, confirm that authority’s prerequisites separately. If the lease is signed before these checks, consider whether the contract appropriately addresses failure to obtain an activity or premises approval; obtain legal advice for the specific contract where needed. Practical preparation reduces avoidable queries but does not guarantee approval.

After submission, monitor the official account for requests and verify the sender before opening links or approving digital identity prompts. A genuine request for clarification should be handled through the official portal or confirmed government contact details. Do not send extra passport or banking data to a messaging account simply because the sender knows the company name.

Common application problems

  • Applying before the CR has been issued.
  • Selecting an activity that differs from the feasibility study or lease.
  • Uploading an incomplete passport copy or inconsistent identity data.
  • Providing a bank statement covering less than three months.
  • Submitting without valid investor, signatory or delegated authority.
  • Assuming a lease automatically proves municipality or sector suitability.
  • Overlooking a prohibited or regulated activity.
  • Confusing the investment licence with a CR, operational licence or investor visa.
  • Treating the portal’s seven-minute estimate as guaranteed approval time.

Security and scam warning

Protect your application: never share an OTP, Oman Business Platform password, digital-identity PIN, bank PIN, CVV or Tax Authority credentials. Do not approve an authentication request initiated by another person. Beware of fake registration websites, fake licence certificates, “guaranteed approval” agents, fake investor-visa packages and requests to send alleged government fees to a personal bank account. Use official domains and payment channels.

Need professional help with this?

Businesses serving this topic can partner with OmanHub.

Advertise with OmanHub

Frequently asked questions

Can I apply before receiving the CR?

No. The current Gov.om condition says companies subject to the law register for the service after obtaining Commercial Registration.

Is the fee really OMR 0.900?

That is the exact issuance fee displayed on the live Gov.om page at the review date. It excludes CR, premises, municipality, sector, visa and private-service costs.

Does the licence guarantee approval of my activity?

No. The activity must be permitted for foreign investment and may require other regulatory approvals. Submission is followed by verification and approval.

Is a three-month bank statement enough?

The published requirement is a statement covering at least three months. The page does not publish a universal minimum balance. Individual clarification may still be requested through the official process.

Does the licence give me residency?

No. Investor visas and residency are separate services with separate eligibility requirements.

How do I renew it?

The licence is valid for two years. Check the live Oman Business Platform/Gov.om record before expiry because the issuance page does not provide a complete renewal workflow.

Official sources

Last reviewed: 13 August 2026. Fees, activity restrictions and portal workflows can change; verify the live official service before submission.